Home News & Results * Rodeo News & Results 2015: ABILENE RODEO CHAMPS CROWNED: Former bull riding champ, NFR cowboy among...

2015: ABILENE RODEO CHAMPS CROWNED: Former bull riding champ, NFR cowboy among titlists

Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo 2015

Former bull riding champ, NFR cowboy among titlists

Abilene, Kans. – August 1, 2015 – The 70th annual Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo in Abilene concluded on Saturday night, with champions crowned in each of seven events.

A familiar face in the bull riding claimed the title for a second time.

Chandler Bownds scored 90 points to win his event, after scoring 93 points to win the rodeo two years ago.

He rode the Andrews Rodeo bull named Bell Ringer, a “good, big, white-spotted bull,” he said. “He turned around to the left, and really bucked.”

Bownds, who lives in Dallas, Texas, is in the middle of the pack, amongst the fifteen bull riders in the world standings. He’s looking for his third qualification to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, but there are two months left in the rodeo season, and he knows his position isn’t secure. “Everybody’s riding good this year,” he said. “There’s a lot of guys who have been winning a lot of money here lately. I just need to keep staying on and keep climbing the world standings.”

The tie-down roping champ is no stranger to the Wrangler NFR. Clint Cooper has competed there five times, and made a 7.9 second run to win the Abilene rodeo. He was aboard his award winning horse Sweetness. The 22 year old gelding is “the best horse I’ve rode in my life,” Cooper said. He’s won the American Quarter Horse Association’s Tie-Down Roping Horse of the Year three times, and he knows it. “He’s like Muhammad Ali or Mike Tyson,” Cooper said. “He knows he’s good, and he’s got a little attitude.” Cooper owns the horse with Karen Herbst, and because of his age, Sweetness is only ridden by Clint and his brothers Clif and world champion Tuf.

Other 2015 champions include bareback rider Wyatt Denny, Minden, Nev. (78 points), steer wrestler Tyler Waguespack, Gonzales, La. (3.6 seconds), saddle bronc riders Travis Sheets, Hyannis, Neb., and Jacobs Crawley, Stephenville, Texas (84 points each), team Colby Lovell, Madisonville, Texas and Kory Koontz, Stephenville, Texas (4.3 seconds), and barrel racer Layna Kight, Ocala, Fla. (17.32).

Next year’s rodeo will be August 3-6, 2016. For complete rodeo results, visit ProRodeo.com. For more information on the rodeo, visit WildBillHickokRodeo.com.

Final Results, Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo – Abilene, Kansas July 29-August 1, 2015

Bareback riding
1. Wyatt Denny, Minden, Nev. 78 points on Andrews Rodeo’s Walk Hard; 2. Jake Brown, Hillsboro, Texas, 75; 3. Codi Myers, Samnorwood, Texas 72; 4. (tie) Winn Ratliff, Leesville, La. and Marvin Alderman, Idabell, Okla. 69 each; no other qualified rides.

Steer Wrestling
1. Tyler Waguespack, Gonzales, La. 3.6 seconds; 2. (tie) JD Struxness, Appleton, Minn., Kyle Irwin, Robertsdale, Ala. and Dean Gorsuch, Gering, Neb. 3.7 each; 5. Blake Mindemann, Blanchard, Okla. 4.0; 6. Cody Moore, Hart, Texas 4.1; 7. (tie) Shane Frey, Duncan, Okla., Tanner Brunner, Ramona, Kan., Tom Duvall, Hitchita, Okla., Brandon Volker, Alva, Olka., and Cooper Shofner, Jasper, Texas 4.3 each.

Saddle bronc riding
1. (tie) Travis Sheets, Hyannis, Neb., on Andrews Rodeo’s Capone and Jacobs Crawley, Stephenville, Texas on Andrews Rodeo’s War Hawk, 84 points each; 3. Chase Miller, Yukon, Okla. 82; 4. Shade Etbauer, Goodwell, Okla. 79; 5. (tie) Dean Wadsworth, Ozona, Texas and Sam Spreadborough, Snyder, Texas 78 points each.

Tie Down Roping
1. Clint Cooper, Decatur, Texas 7.9 seconds; 2. Cole Bailey, Okmulgee, Okla. 8.1; 3. Caleb Smidt, Bellville, Texas 8.3; 4. (tie) Trent Creager, Stillwater, Okla. and Dillon Holder, Eugene, Mo. 8.7 each; 6. (tie) Ryan Watkins, Bluff Dale, Texas and Garrett King, Fairland, Okla. 8.8; 8. Clayton Collmorgen, Lufkin, Texas 9.0.

Team Roping
1. Colby Lovell, Madisonville, Texas/Kory Koontz, Stephenville, Texas 4.3 seconds; 2. Aaron Macy, Post, Texas/Chad Williams, Stephenville, Texas 4.9; 3. Jesse Stipes, Salina, Okla./Billie Jack Saebens, Nowata, Okla. 5.2; 4 Brandon Vaske, Alva, Okla./Braden Harmon, Mustang, Okla. 5. Zeb Chapman, Lafayette, Ga./Michael Bratton, Opelika, Ala. 6.3; 6. Clay Tryan, Billings, Mont./Jake Corkill, Fallon, Nev. 9.4; 7. Cale Markham, Vinita, Okla./Buddy Hawkins II, Columbus, Kan. 9.6; 8. David Key, Stephenville, Texas/Martin Lucero, Stephenville, Texas 10.1.

Barrel racing
1. Layna Kight, Ocala, Fla. 17.21 seconds; 2. Laura Kennedy, Quitman, Ark. 17.43; 3. Carley Richardson, Pampa, Texas 17.45; 4. (tie) Kim Couch, Rattan, Okla. and Megan Swint, Lithia, Fla. 17.48 each; 6. Tillar Murray, Ft Worth, Texas 17.49; 7. Christine Laughlin, Pueblo, Colo. 17.58; 8. Abby Searcy, Wilmar, Ark. 17.61; 9. (tie) Michelle Lummus, Hiram, Ga. and Meghan Johnson, Deming, N.M. 17.62 each.

Bull Riding
1. Chandler Bownds, Lubbock, Texas 90 points on Andrews Rodeo Co.’s Bell Ringer; 2. Aaron Pass, Dallas, Texas 88; 3. (tie) Sage Kimzey, Strong City, Okla. and Cameron Bland, Springtown, Texas, 85 points each; 5. Cain Smith, Pendleton, Ore. 73; 6. (tie) Tyler Taylor, Stephenville, Texas and Jeff Bertus, Avon, S.D. 71 each; 8.Logan Hunter,Woodward, Okla. 70.

** All results are unofficial.